Gears improvement

Bullitt0616

Aug 31, 2005
I searched and couldn't find anything on this, but is there someone out there who has measured 0-60MPH and 1/4 improvements of gears alone?

i have a stock Bullitt with 3.27's and was thinking of going 4.10's. I heard somewhere that 4.10s on a GT pulls like a Mach 1. If so, saying a stock GT goes from 0-60 in about 5.6 seconds, what would 4.10' do?

an estimaton would suffice.

Thanks,
Carlos

• Sponsors (?)

pull like a mach 1? granted i have no experience with a GT that has gears, or a mach 1, but i dont think only gears will make a GT pull like a mach, it's a totally different animal, no matter what gears a GT has, it's still the 260 hp 2v motor

Bullitt0616 said:
I searched and couldn't find anything on this, but is there someone out there who has measured 0-60MPH and 1/4 improvements of gears alone?

i have a stock Bullitt with 3.27's and was thinking of going 4.10's. I heard somewhere that 4.10s on a GT pulls like a Mach 1. If so, saying a stock GT goes from 0-60 in about 5.6 seconds, what would 4.10' do?

an estimaton would suffice.

Thanks,
Carlos

I got some experience in this that might help you decide. I just went through a divorce I had an 04 Comp Orange Mach 1, well had to get rid of it and bought a used 2000 stock gt. After a two months of crusing in my not so fast gt I upgraded to 4:10's and from what I can tell the gt pulls just as hard or harder - it helped me get over the whole power thing - now I feel like I've got a fast stang again. Of course my gas mileage isn't the greatest now because I floor it everywhere - I can break the tires loose in 1st and 2nd with out trying now, and the speedo needle climbs the numbers like sliding on a stick of butter. I also got the SCT Xcali-2 with a tune for 93 octane so that probably helped a little as well. I haven't been to the track yet to get any #'s but I'd definitly bet on a high 13 pass.