HCI No Start (Part 2)

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by Strype, Oct 25, 2009.


  1. blackened88lx

    blackened88lx Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Connecticut
    67 coupe is correct about the timing, but how did you time it if it doesn't run properly? :scratch: Sounds retarded to me (the timing), but could definitely be some other things mentioned as well. Redo the distributor and try more advance. What happens if you give it throttle?
     
    #21
  2. jrichker

    jrichker StangNet's favorite TOOL SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2000
    Messages:
    21,740
    Likes Received:
    383
    Trophy Points:
    134
    Location:
    Dublin GA
    See the "Surging Idle Checklist for help with all your idle/stall problems. Everything you need to find and fix idle problems is in there.

    The first two posts contain all the updates to the fixes. At last count there were 24 possible causes and fixes for surging idle/stall problems. I continue to update it as more people post fixes or ask questions.
     
    #22
  3. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL





    Well I'm gonna start with the valve covers and the air intake that slipped off... hehehe

    Thanks doods I'll let you know :nice:
     
    #23
  4. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL
    So what about having breathers on the valve covers... Is that a no no too?
     
    #24
  5. 67coupe

    67coupe Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa and Huntsville, AL
    Long term, yes, that's not a good idea. Will it cause your problems, no.

    I'm assuming fixing the intake tube btw the MAF and TB did not help???
     
    #25
  6. blackened88lx

    blackened88lx Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Having just breathers is fine. Better than pcv that's for sure. Having breathers AND a pcv is unmetered air. Make sure you block off the pcv if you're using breathers. There's better options than breathers but anything is better than pcv.
     
    #26
  7. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL
    Thanks guys... She's running! :banana:


    The rocker arms were shimmed wrong, well at least some of them. Also there were two pushrods that were too long so we traded them out for some old ones. After we redid the rockers the timing was way off (I know wierd?). So we set the timing to a diagram where the little black deal (reluctor) was just ahead of the rotor and the plug wires had to be rearranged back a post each. Evidently the #1 marking under the cap doesn't mean squat and nobody should EVER pay any attention to it. I know that now.



    http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/800036-thank-you-5-0-talk-tech.html
     
    #27
  8. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL
    Okay here's a rundown of all the problems I ran into...

    A) Fuel pressure loss- The BBK SSI intake was to blame. The tube inbetween the fuel rails was leaking.
    B) Vacuum Leak- We had accidentally pulled the PCV valve out.
    C) Spark plugs- The GT40X heads take 3924 (I think) Autolites.
    D) Valve train- The rockers must be shimmed exactly as shown here: http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/785764-cam-timing-question.html#post7909781
    E) Timing- The black "reluctor" has to be pointed at 12:00. The rotor should be just behind it. The number 1 plug on the cap must be over the rotor or just after. That plug actually sits just over the black magnetic pickup (reluctor I think).
    F) Fuel in the Oil- After many attempted starts the unburned fuel was just pooling inside the combustion chamber and you could tell from the plugs. Some were black and some were clean but they were all drenched. It was obviously washing out the cylinders.
     
    #28
  9. NIKwoaC

    NIKwoaC 中國製造

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,448
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    164
    Location:
    Chengdu Province
    Glad to hear you got the car running, STRYPE!

    So what is the story on this? It was my understanding that you HAVE to have the #1 wire on the correct terminal on the distributor, or your fuel injectors will pulse at the wrong time...?
     
    #29
  10. 67coupe

    67coupe Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa and Huntsville, AL
    Glad you got it running! :nice:

    Vids???
     
    #30
  11. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL
    :scratch:

    This requires some homework... Anybody know? My buddy has an msd cap and its not even marked.

    http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/800036-thank-you-5-0-talk-tech.html

    :nice:
     
    #31
  12. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL
    Here's what we followed and it worked like a charm:


     
    #32
  13. 67coupe

    67coupe Founding Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa and Huntsville, AL

    That's exactly right. It didn't occur to me that you might have an aftermarket cap (no mark). The number 1 terminal would be right over the rotor and, on the factory cap, would be labeled as such.

    Saw the vid in Talk. Sounds great!!!
     
    #33
  14. Strype

    Strype Cuthbert catcher Founding Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,714
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    Huntsvegas, AL
    Thanks, my cap does have a #1 label but there's no way to make it match up :scratch:
     
    #34

Share This Page