help deciding on mufflers

fivespeedsteed

Dirt-Old 20+Year Member
Oct 17, 2003
Richmond, VA
so i have a flowmaster force II catback (2 chamber) and im looking for some louder mufflers. the muffs werent welded in when installed.

so i want something that sounds good at idle, but gets louder and louder as the RPM's go up. my flowmasters are loud down below 2 or so and then quiet from there on. i want something opposite. i want something that screams like something thats about to die, but if i drive by a cop and i keep it below 2 ish rpm to not be loud loud...

id like them to be stainless too if possible, and details on where i can get them (or link)

thanks guys

• Sponsors (?)

do you have a stock H pipe? if so, all mufflers are going to drone around 2000 and seem to get quieter as RPMs increase. keep the mufflers you have and get an off road H or X pipe. it will have a great idle sound, drone a bit louder at about 2400 than it does now at 2000 but at high RPMs it will SCREAM. Force II's sound GREATTTTTT with an off road midpipe. probably my favorite setup.

as for passing a cop, just throw it to the next higher gear and lug past him or throw in the clutch and coast

btw, force II's are actually 3-chambers (50 series)...the american thunder cat back has 2-chambers (40 series)

do you have a stock H pipe? if so, all mufflers are going to drone around 2000 and seem to get quieter as RPMs increase. keep the mufflers you have and get an off road H or X pipe. it will have a great idle sound, drone a bit louder at about 2400 than it does now at 2000 but at high RPMs it will SCREAM. Force II's sound GREATTTTTT with an off road midpipe. probably my favorite setup.

as for passing a cop, just throw it to the next higher gear and lug past him or throw in the clutch and coast

btw, force II's are actually 3-chambers (50 series)...the american thunder cat back has 2-chambers (40 series)

I had 3 chambered flows. A little louder then stock muffs on a 5.0