Help? Got rear-ended!

TheVin

Jan 12, 2007
Stay with me folks, I promise this is a tech topic, it just needs set-up.

Well, my specially ordered every-option 2008 black GT mustang dream car got rear ended the other night by a teenage girl driving her pappys 40k Audi. The Good news is the Audi was likely totaled and my Stang drove home. Only have owned the thing for 4 months.

Oh well. 'Dark Matter' happens.

But I found out yesterday that there is some 'minor' damage to the frame. They say they are going to have to 'pull' it. Now I am a good driver and have not been involved with a major collision for 20 years, and back then I drove a piece of junk I didn't care about.

Now my question is, and the whole reason this is on tech- is will this car still handle as nicely as it did when they finish bending the frame back? IE, will I have lost some structural rigidity? Ideally I'd like a response from folks who have either been on the track and needed 'a little work done' after a smash up

Also, an aside: Like I said, I have not been in an accident of any account in 20 years- what will this do to the resale value of my car?

Vin

• Sponsors (?)

The way the new bodies are constructed you shouldn't have anything to worry about. It's extremely easy to weld in whole sections of the unibody and leave nothing more than a few grinder marks on the welded seams. I wouldn't worry, just make sure it's at a competent shop.

The way the new bodies are constructed you shouldn't have anything to worry about. It's extremely easy to weld in whole sections of the unibody and leave nothing more than a few grinder marks on the welded seams. I wouldn't worry, just make sure it's at a competent shop.

Hey- thanks. That really sets my mind at ease. I think there was one area where the guy was talking about welding in sections- under the trunk. It makes sense that welding in new metal will be just as good as original, and you don;t have to worry about loss of rigidity from fatigue.

Vin