Help with Tuning(?) issue... What to do?

Lesane

Sep 1, 2004
Orlando, FL
I'm looking for some guidance, as I am new to the 4.6 Mustangs... It might take a good bit of detail to explain my dillema, so please bear with me. I am also new to the forums, so if this is in the wrong spot, or its too long, or anything else is wrong, I apologize! I just dont know what to do, and i really need help! About a year ago, I bought a 1998 Mustang GT. The previous owner had done a good little bit of work to it, including a Vortech supercharger. The car ran great when I bought it, but took a downhill turn shortly after. It started to run very rich, leaving black soot all over the rear bumper. And right after that, the coolant crossover on my intake manifold decided to crack. I replaced the intake with an aftermarket (OEM type) with the aluminum crossover, and integrated o-ring gaskets. Now that was fixed, something else has to go wrong, right? It didn't want to start, and i tried to trouble shoot everything. It ended up that one of the wires to the driverside coil had a bad connection, but during the process of figuring that out, I also learned that my car didn't have the factory computer, and the MAF sensor was labeled for a 96 GT with 36# injectors. I have 42# on my car, so i figured that might be a problem? So I decided what i should do was get a new MAF and get a new tune. I installed a 90mm Lightning MAF sensor, and got my car down the only performance shop around. I know NOTHING about tuning Mustangs, and I assumed the owner of the shop did. I paid about $500 total for a dyno tune, and a little bit of labor that was needed during the process. After that, the car seemed to run GREAT! the numbers werent what i thought they would be (302hp, 360tq i believe). Then the car took another turn downhill. It developed this horrible pinging noise under ANY load in 4th gear! It sounded like it was right under the front seats in both sides of the exhaust. It also started to run rich again,