how hard is it to change head gaskets ?

hey guys so i have a blown head gasket, so im thinking i will do it myself. i have never done them before. i know its time consuming and such, but i want to know actual difficulty. as some of you know i am young and dont know tons about engines. but i am not stupid either. lol. so my question is can i do it? also is there any tutorials on it?

• Sponsors (?)

The job is not hard at all just make sure you have some type of manual (Haynes)for all of the correct torques and patterns. The things that will go above and beyond just removing and reinstalling bolts are the things you should have done while the car is apart. Rebuild/recondition the heads (and/or upgrade components) for example, you might want to drop them off at a machine shop and have them professionally cleaned, checked and rebuilt. Also if you have never installed a distributor, it is not as straight forward as correctly torquing a bolt but its also in the books and not really hard at all.

Wouldn't be a bad idea to change out some seals as well and clean the injectors and such. Whatever you have apart, just do a once over on and tidy things up a bit. The heads aren't that hard as RJ said, just make sure you have the time and tools, autozone will sell you a torque wrench for about $90, and you can take it back when your done if you don't want to keep it.

I'll be finishing up my head gasket's on my car in the next couple days and it's been my first time tearin something down like this. (i've rebuilt a few 350 chevys, but all were carbed and built to some elses expense)

Just remember to take your time, label everything and if it takes a gasket, replace it.