How to fix torque boxes?

NastE50

Founding Member
May 21, 2002
IL
My 5.0 has a ripping 331 in it (AFR 185's, Trickflow Intake, tfs cam, full exhaust) and my car runs like a dream except for the rear suspension. I would have to say that my torque boxes are really torn up. The owner before me had southside machine lift bars on the car and over the last 4 years they have gotten really bad. I installed Southside uppers and Granatelli weight jacker lowers. The granatellis were garbage!!!!! The didn't fit in the axle mount at all! I had to bend the flanges out for it to fit. Eventually, they did a nasty job on my torqueboxes even with torque box reinforcements i put in. I now have Pro3 industries solid lowers and they are great but there is a nasty clunking at when my car gets hiccups or when i downshift. Visually, I dont know how the suspension can support the car the way the metal is torn. I live in Northern Illinois and I am a fulltime student so money is hard to come by. Does anyone know how or where I can get these boxes fixed or welded up for CHEAP? I love my car and this REALLY bothers me! I took a ride in my buddies 1999 GT and I WISH my car was that solid. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

The only two ways I know of fixing them is reconstruction or re-welding with reinforcements. But if they are broken than your car would get "squirrely" on acceleration. Have you tried replacing or inspecting the bushings back there? Also if there is a clunk sound on deceleration, then it is usually from the rear end on driveshaft or most commonly the U-joints.

Ya has anyone fixed their before? Mine are all ripped up looking I don't understand how the car is holding a straight line, im afraid to do a hard launch now thinking that it might just start ripping more...... How to fix?! thanks

NastE50 said:
My 5.0 has a ripping 331 in it (AFR 185's, Trickflow Intake, tfs cam, full exhaust) and my car runs like a dream......

off the topic...