How to wetsand? Help clear coat peeling in a small spot!

91LX_5L

Founding Member
May 13, 2002
British Columbia
Ok I was masking off around my fender so I could paint my inner fenders etc black to look all nice again, when I removed the masking tape a little chunk of clear cote peeled off about the size of a quarter. I tried chipping it away with my finger nail so it would be all flush, now I have a line about the size of a quarter a bit bigger of where you can notice that the clear cote has peeled. Now when I got my bumper and hood done he laied down a quick layer of clear on my fenders so it would match wicked. So I still have another few layers underneith and it looks just as shiny and good in that spot.

So to prevent it from peeling and spreading more I was thinking of wet sanding that area probay about 5x5" around the spot (about 1.5" x 1.5").

Will this work? How do I wetsand I have never done it before?

Also has anyone heard of or know anyone who has had their car wetsanded then another cote of clear sprayed all over then wetsanded again? I was thinking of doing that to just bring the shineyness back before I go for an entire new paint job, since my paint is still in wicked shape.

Thanks in advance!

• Sponsors (?)

Anytime I've wetsanded when detailing cars, I'll take a bucket and either have just water if its a quick job, or a water/soap solution. Then use 1500 grit paper, soak it in the bucket, and then take a towel and soak it. While you lightly sand the area, squeeze the towel to always have water running over the area. That way you don't cut through too much clear. Then after you are done. I usually wheel out the area using 3M rubbing compound. Then it looks like it was never touched in the first place.

Jeremy