HP-to-Weight Ratio & Losing Races question...

Okay, so self-admitted nerd that I am, I sat down with my friend Excel and made a mini-spreadsheet to figure out some basic calculations, horsepower to weight ratio.

What prompted this is the fact that I have been debating two things:
1) There seem to be loads of recent posts involving losing races recently to seemingly-stock or mildly modified vehicles. Something seems wrong there.
2) I am having an internal debate over yanking the engine this winter and modding it heavily (347 stroker). I just want to make the car move like it SHOULD have from the factory w/o modding the crap out of it to get some decent numbers.

I guess my dilemma here comes from my past with the bike world. I have been riding for about 9 years and loads of miles. I have ridden and owned a lot of sportbikes and have yet to get into a car that snaps my neck and gives me the feeling of acceleration that a bike does. Even little 600s can whoop the a$$ of most cars out there. I am just wondering if it's worth it getting all wrangled up in dumping countless dollars into a '95 Stang when I can grab a bike for roughly the same ca$h (roughly...). I was figuring on a solid $4K for the motor. I love the 'Stang, but just not sure if I want to spend all sorts of money on something that may never really live up to my expectations and still be reliable to drive semi-daily.

Anyway, chart below for anyone who cares.

HP Weight Ratio Comment(s)
240 3567 0.067 Stock
240 3575 0.067 Stock w/subframe connectors
340 3575 0.095 Additional 100hp
440 3575 0.123 Additional 200hp
340 3100 0.110 Additional 100hp and losing 475lbs
340 2950 0.115 Additional 100hp and losing 625lbs
440 3100 0.142 Additional 200hp and losing 475lbs
440 2950 0.149 Additional 200hp and losing 625lbs
500 3100 0.161 95CobraGuy's 'Stang, according to ##s in the electric pump thread (guessed @ weight)
850 2880 0.295 Chrysler ME Quad Turbo V12 mentioned below
Chrysler ME Four-Twelve - .295 hp/lb