hydraulic clutch conversion for 86 5.0

crutch

Mar 7, 2008
Hey all, I'm new to StangNet and just wanted to see who's using/where to get a hydraulic clutch conversion kit for my four eyed 5.0. The clutch that was installed by the previous onwer is really aggressive (I love it) and the pedal takes about 35-40lbs of force to push. This is by far the hardest clutch I've ever felt, and I work for Dodge and have seen my fair share of stiff clutches on farm trucks! Now I may sound like a wimp crying about my clutch....let me tell ya why. I was involved in a serious motorcycle accident about 5 years ago and broke both legs in 17 places (ouch). In September I had my 9th corrective surgery which involved re-breaking my left leg and putting on an external fixator (like a halo for the head). So they took it off three weeks ago and I can FINALLY drive my Fox again. But I'm still rebuilding bone and pushing that clutch is KILLING me. So I figured I could do the swap and have a clutch that was nice to drive and keep in in the drivers seat of the Fox...instead of having one of my buddies drive me around in it :notnice:. Any help would be great....thanks in advance

• Sponsors (?)

I don't know of any conversion kits offhand, but your clutch very well may be the old school FRPP HD clutch, its what I have, and is notorious for being heavy on the pedal load. It is a bear to push in, don't feel bad. That being said, check out some of the other stock replacement type designs out there, like the "King Cobra" clutch by FRPP, its supposed to have the same holding power as the HD, but less pedal effort. Happy hunting.