I KNOW there's a clutch problem but ??????????

Throwout Bearing. I found the How-To write up here and have read through several forums that say to replace the clutch completely since you have to drop the tranny anyway. The car just rolled over 100k and hasn't had clutch repaired/replaced that I know of - Mom bought it used in 98ish. Replacing the clutch makes sense.

The questions? Parts and CAN I DO THIS MYSELF?

The other forum recommended a King Cobra Clutch Kit for $150 but I can pick up a kit at the local part store for $90. Is that a bad idea for the Mustang? I have no experience working on transmissions and don't really understand how much difference a performance clutch would make vs. a basic clutch. It IS a 5.0 Mustang - power is important but it's not a modified racing Mustang either. It will more than likely stay stock.

I have replaced a cooling fan motor, tie rods, alternator, serpentine belt, battery terminals, and done a tune-up on my own. I've got the basic skills but I've never done something this in depth. I don't really have any car savvy friends to help me out so it's a little intimidating. I know it won't be simple and it may take me a whole weekend... Sending it to a mechanic is pretty much out of the question. We're in a really tight spot and are now down to one car in a three driver household. I can do this right?? Anybody? :eek:

• Sponsors (?)

You'll find that most parts store clutches are made by the same company that makes OEM and performance clutches, Valeo. I have used parts store replacement kits over the years without any issues. Even while running over 400 hp through one! So if you are on a budget go ahead and get it.