I went to get an estimate today...

Well I know I have to replace the two door skins along with the driver's 1/4 panel and change the color but I was thinking $5000.00 not $8500.00

I am a mechanic and after building many engines and fitting a Dodge Viper T-56 behind my 347 I feel pretty good about my mechanical ability. As the owner of an equipment rental store I always say I am just a glorified mechanic. but why I am so....Well scared to jump into the body work? I am looking for your opinion as to whether I should bite the bullet and have the local shop do the body or do it myself?

• Sponsors (?)

I did the metal work on my car and then took it to the body shop for final smoothing and paint. I saved a buth of money and am proud of the results. I did not want to paint the car because I am very particular and would notice all the flaws.

If you already know how to use airtools and mig weld+have a garage, I would go for it. there are many good people on here that can help when u get stuck or just need a oppinion.

We changed a door skin on our 66. Not a very difficult job if you have the tools. Took about 6 hours to remove the door, cut skin off and install the new skin.
We took pictures if you want to view them on our webpage
New Door Skin
Be sure to drill holes into the lip on the new skin BEFORE you bend it over so you can plug weld the skin to the frame

Are they taking down to bare metal? If so $8 does not seem unreasonable to trunk, jambs, undhood etc. Lot of work to change color. Also, agree with replacing whole door - Did skins on mine and if I had to do over again would have went with full doors - unless you are doing the skins yourself - be cheaper in the long run.

By my calculation, that'd be a about $500 labor charge, plus $50 for the skin.

A new door is $250.

Or $50 if he does it himself. (Plus the cost of at least a hammer and dolly if doesn't have these)

I re-skinned both my doors and couldn't be happier. Here's some pics of the passenger door: