ID of 351C

outlaw66

Apr 1, 2005
Flowood, Ms
I just purchased a Falcon with a 351C (?) and need to identify the engine year. I am having a heck of a time finding a water pump for it. It has 2V heads but where can I go to look for a date code or something to establish a year so I can get some help at the parts store. They MUST know a car model and year before they can help. I first asked for like a 70 Galaxie water pump for a 351C but the WP they had for the Galaxie was not exactly like what I had. This is my first experience with the Cleveland so I'm new to this engine.
Thanks in advance.

I know this car is not a Mustang, but I do have two 66 Mustangs already and have gotten a lot of assistance on this site. Any help on ID of this engine or maybe a website with info that I could use would be great.

Thanks guys,

Outlaw

• Sponsors (?)

The engine block will have a casting number that's somewhat covered by the starter. That will help you with the year of the block. However, since this is not the factory engine in the Falcon, I wouldn't expect to find all the engine parts to completely match up. Someone could have done a custom performance build with different year parts.

If you have a friendly parts counter guy, I think you should ask him to look at a couple different cars/years that the 351C came in and pull the parts for you to look at.

One other thing - the wp from behind the counter may not be identical, but was it close enough? You might want to just make sure the part will function for you, since there's nothing collectable about the car/engine combination. Why worry about finding the exact same part?

One other thing: I wouldn't have thought a 351C would have come in a Galaxie. I would ask for a 70 Mustang or Torino, something sporty.

thanks Hack,