IDLE CIRCUIT MALFUNCTION

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by armoore98, Mar 6, 2013.


  1. armoore98

    armoore98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    GREENBRIER ARKANSAS
    car seems to idle slower than normal and now I am getting a idle circuit malfunction on my 05 GT. Just wondering if anyone else has had this issue.
     
    #1
  2. SpartaPerformance

    SpartaPerformance Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Do you have a specific code? How many miles?
     
    #2
  3. armoore98

    armoore98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    GREENBRIER ARKANSAS
    not sure of the code, but the car has 142000 miles on it. I have put E3 spark plugs in about 15000 miles ago. Other than that, it is completely as Ford sent it out
     
    #3
  4. jpplaw

    jpplaw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try cleaning the throttle body?
     
    #4
  5. SpartaPerformance

    SpartaPerformance Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,163
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    142,000 miles? You might need a new TB.
     
    #5
  6. armoore98

    armoore98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    GREENBRIER ARKANSAS
    If I was going to replace the throttle body, which one would be the best investment?
     
    #6
  7. earleys94gt

    earleys94gt Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    49
    Location:
    Ashley, Ohio
    I'd try to clean the throttle body first, and see where that gets you.

    If you are heart-set on getting a new throttle body, you get what you pay for. Now, that doesn't mean you need to buy the most expensive one you can find, but just do some research.

    Another thing to keep in mind is, as your car is stock, don't go to big on a new throttle bodyThe stock size is 55mm, and anything bigger may require an aftermarket CAI and possibly a tune; however, if you go too big the manifold inlet will be a restriction, and you'll have an "air jam" in the throttle body.
     
    #7
  8. armoore98

    armoore98 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    Location:
    GREENBRIER ARKANSAS
    Thanks for the info, I am going to clean it and see where that gets me
     
    #8

Share This Page