Installing A Fuel Pressure Gauge

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by golf4283, May 22, 2014.


  1. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Can anyone let me know what kind of fuel pressure gauge I should get and where to install? my fuel rail has no provision for such a thing (unless I can somehow use it in conjunction with the return line valve in the rail.

    I have EFI in my '65 Mustang. the fuel lines are all custom and I'm using AN fittings for some of it so I'm guessing I can tap into those. I just need a recommendation from someone on which gauge to get that will handle the PSI. I'm worries the car is starving for fuel but there's no way to tell without a gauge.

    Thanks,
    Dan
    #1
  2. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Whst fuel pressure regulator are you using? Some have a povision for a gauge.
    #2
  3. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    It's just a standard regulator that came with the fuel rail I'm using (which is a stock ford rail).

    It sounds like ordering a new regulator might easily solve my problem here too
    #3
  4. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Oh, and any fuel pressure gauge will work. Mine is from Performance Fuel systems and can be had for about $30 through Summit
    #4
  5. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    What rails? Is there a schrader valve somewhere in there?
    #5
  6. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    the problem is these regulators are all $100 or so. Any cheaper alternatives?
    #6
  7. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    no schrader valve on these rails.
    #7
  8. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    You have some stock Ford rails with everything else custom?
    #8
  9. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    yea. I tried to save money where I could. I really don't want to plop down $100-200 for custom rails if the stock ones will do the same thing.
    #9
  10. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    I understand that for sure. Thats why i got sn95 rails that have a schrader valve right on the rail for a gauge mount. :D

    Now you're gonna have to get creative and find a way, most likely gonna require some an fittings which arent cheap. Assume the rails have quick connects on them?
    #10
  11. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    yea they have quick connects. I'll check craigslist for SN95 rails. I might even have one already since I'm using an explorer GT40 intake. I think the rails that were on there had the schrader valve but I was unsure of the quick connect locations interfering with the intake and accessories.
    #11
  12. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    What lines do you have leading up to and connecting to the rails?
    #12
  13. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Explorer rails wont work. They only have one crossover
    #13
  14. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    I have stainless steel lines running from the tank to the engine compartment.
    in the engine compartment I have AN fittings converting the stainless lines to flexible steel wrapped lines. then I have AN fittings for the quick connect fittings at the fuel rail
    #14
  15. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    They make an adaper like this that has the gauge port on ot

    361-AT100200.jpg
    #15
  16. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    yea I saw that exact item. I was going to use that. I just can't remember if I used -6an or -8an.
    #16
  17. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    This is a cheap gauge that just works.

    pf-2100t.jpg

    Can buy direct from pfs for under $20
    #17
  18. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    what PSI should the gauge go up to?

    Edit: nevermind, answered my question.
    #18
  19. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,034
    Showcase:
    10
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Do you have an adjustable pressure regulator?
    #19
  20. golf4283

    golf4283 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Nope, Just the stock regulator. I should probably replace that as well since it's most likely old and bad.
    #20

Share This Page