Is belt dust normal with an RR pulley?

Discussion in 'SN95 4.6L Mustang Tech' started by Primo, Dec 4, 2003.


  1. Primo

    Primo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Just installed a 3.3" RR pulley about 2 weeks ago and I am experiencing a lot of belt dust. My stock 3.5" never left any belt dust :shrug: My replacement belt aslo was a bit longer even though it was the same part number. :mad: So there is a significant difference in slack. Would a shorter belt help? Likewise, it took me about an hour to get the new belt on while struggling with the damn tensioner.
    #1
  2. JM01

    JM01 Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    17
    Location:
    Branch Office of Hell (110ยบ)
    If you are having belt dust.... 99% of the times is due to belt sliping (sp?) :nonono:
    #2
  3. MrMorden

    MrMorden New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    A small amount of dust is normal. If you're getting a lot, though, you could have a tensioning issue. Check the belt tension, and if it's not very taut or the tensioner hasa whole lot of movement in it, try a belt 1/2" shorter.
    #3
  4. 46gtsblown

    46gtsblown Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have already stated the belt you put on was longer. It is probably too long and slipping. Put a shorter belt on there and you will eliminate the dust.

    Dwayne
    #4
  5. MrMorden

    MrMorden New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Duh, I didn't read well enough. Longer belt + smaller pulley = massive belt slip.
    #5
  6. Primo

    Primo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    How do I get a Gates original belt? The only parts store that has a "so called gates" is Napa. Yet Napa gave me the same part number that was on the gates belt :shrug:
    #6

Share This Page