is it worth the time to build up a 8 inch rearend?

bikefreak600

Dec 10, 2005
rochelle IL
starting my street car build, im new to older mustangs. motor will lowside 500 + hp. i thinking about rebuilding the 8 inch rearend that came in the car. is it possible for a 8 inch to handle that much power with stronger axles, gears, & locker ? i have a 8.8 housing that i can resort to using but i will have to completely build it with all new parts, both axles locker n gears, just weeks before i purchased this 65 fastback, i sold all the new in box parts for the 8.8 thinking i was never going to use it again. ( yea how stupid do i feel now).
so will it be worth the time to build this 8 inch or will it just explode after a little abuse?

• Sponsors (?)

Since you have a stick shift, even a built 8" isn't going to hold up to the motor you are planning. Go with a 9" or an 8.8". I don't like the 8.8" because its got C-clips. With that much power and a stick trans, I'd go with a 9".

My built 8 is holding up fine so far. I have a detroit locker, motive gears and stock axles. I'm making 360rwhp and 390rwtq which puts it at about 420fwhp 470fwtq. Have taken it to the strip a few times and no problems yet.... running 12's all day long at the track. I actually opened up the pumpkin after about 2000kms and everything looks good. PLus its like 40-60lbs lighter than a 9". BTW I'm also running a toploader. its not hp that breaks things its torque.