Is This Replaceable?

Undeadknight26

May 19, 2013
Florida
Hey guys! I'm kinda new to this car and well an accident happened last night when we were having some fun with the car and now the hood needs to be replaced and so do a few other parts...but this post is specifically for that piece between the hood and windshield and to the sides of the plastic wiper piece. That is not my car just a picture I found on google.

Attachments

• 2.png
    2.png
    859.9 KB · Views: 118
  • Sponsors (?)

Hey guys! I'm kinda new to this car and well an accident happened last night when we were having some fun with the car and now the hood needs to be replaced and so do a few other parts...but this post is specifically for that piece between the hood and windshield and to the sides of the plastic wiper piece. That is not my car just a picture I found on google.
Replaceable.... Yes but not very easily. The cowl panel is spot welded into the car and serves as the upper portion of your firewall as well. You will need to employ a good body shop to make these repairs, this is all to common of these cars with aftermarket cowl hoods when no hood pins are used.

Reactions: 1 user
This exactly ^^^
This type of repair is not cheap and without seeing what you're working with it's hard to say one way or another.

If the damage is something like the pictures below and you don't have the skills necessary to fix them then your car is probably totaled.

A cowl I repaired on my previous t-top 5.0 from a hood flying up.
cowl damage.jpg
cowl repair 1.jpg
cowl repair.jpg

Reactions: 3 users
If the damage is something like the pictures below and you don't have the skills necessary to fix them then your car is probably totaled.

cowl damage.jpg
cowl repair 1.jpg
cowl repair.jpg
Great pictures to explain what is involved in the repair, nicely done!

Reactions: 2 users

cowl damage.jpg
cowl repair 1.jpg
cowl repair.jpg