Just got nice Stang but fouling plugs

Red65Coupe

Dec 26, 2003
Hello all! Im new to Classic Mustangs but consider myself a pretty good mechanic. Ive only worked on new cars though and am not used to distributors and adjusting timing.....and these carbuerator thingies. :)
I just bought this absolutely beautiful 65 coupe that looks awesome and has a recently rebuilt engine in it that is really clean. But it keeps fouling the plug in hole #6. It gets a nice carbon build up on it until it actually bridges the gap. Then the car runs like poo on 5 cyls obviously. The other plugs look ok. The car doesnt smoke. It fires right up but seems to idle rough. The lady I got if from very rarely drove it. I dont think shes driven at all in several months. She did tell me however that before she put it up for sale she had a complete tune up done to it including a new distributor. So I guess I just need to know what to look at first. I was thinking that maybe its doing this from lack of driving it and the rings are a little gunked up. But like I said... Im new to these engines. Funny how I would feel more comfortable on a late model car than these relatively simple older engines. Any help would greatly appreciated.

• Sponsors (?)

Assuming you've already checked the plug and plug wire for spark or just replaced them, I'd replace the valve stem seals. I had that prob. in three of my six cyls, and $11 worth of seals fixed the problem immediately.

Thanks for the info. Yeah I just replaced the wires and plugs to start. Is there a way to make sure valve stem seals are the prob? Ive never had to replace valve stem seals... how involved is the install? Thanks for any help!

mustang_65 said:
Assuming you've already checked the plug and plug wire for spark or just replaced them, I'd replace the valve stem seals. I had that prob. in three of my six cyls, and $11 worth of seals fixed the problem immediately.