Engine Looking For A Mean N/a Recipe

Looking at getting back in the 2v game.

I recently sold my 700hp 4v ’97 cobra and once again I want back in the game!

This will be my third mustang but this time, I want to build the motor myself, first two stangs I purchased had internal motor mods already done.

Now that I have my own garage I want to purchase a stock mustang and take pride in building it myself. I have no prior knowledge of engine building; I have been reading a few engine building/blueprinting books and am ready for the challenge. I understand this will be a long process.
I haven’t purchased a mustang yet, I’m planning to pickup a clean, high mileage 96-98 GT (best bang for the buck.)

I am thinking of building a bad ass N/A 4.6 but have no idea where to start.
I would rather not stroke the block I have heard nightmares about the strength on stroked 4.6 blocks.

Here is what I am thinking— keep in mind this idea is not set in concrete and I am flexible

I don’t really have a hp goal in mind, but would love to shoot for 400rwhp. As for budget I would like to keep the build under $5000

Does anyone have a badass N/A build recipe with proven results?

I know I will need:

Heads – trick flow/ported?
Intake – Logan (is an aftermarket intake overkill?) This will probably kill my build budget L
Cams -? I want a radical cam (love the rough idle!) But I am concerned about cam and piston clearance
Pistons /Rods ?
As for rotating assemble I know lighter is better, but I don’t think spending the extra money will net much gain INPUT?

I know I will have to raise the compression if going the N/A route I just don’t know the best piston head combo for that and keep a pump friendly tune.

I am looking for specific model and brand numbers please.

The car will mostly be a weekend warrior (60% street / 40% track).