looking for PICS of Homemade Cold Air Inductions kit

Discussion in '1994 - 1995 Specific Tech' started by ZarnAutomotive, Oct 19, 2003.


  1. ZarnAutomotive

    ZarnAutomotive Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tring to make one , any suggestion would help
  2. GTJake

    GTJake Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Let me know what questions you have.

    Jake
  3. ZarnAutomotive

    ZarnAutomotive Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how did you get the pro-m bolted in .( i have a pro-m to.) and is that a 4 inch PVC Pipe? and how long is it? LOOKS GREAT GOOD JOB!!!!!!!!
  4. GTJake

    GTJake Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Not a Pro-M, just the stock 70mm MAF. An 80mm Pro-M is coming soon though. Yeah, it's 4" PVC. It was about 9.5".

    Jake
  5. ZarnAutomotive

    ZarnAutomotive Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how did u get you MAF housing bolted iin
  6. GTJake

    GTJake Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I bought an MAF adapter off ebay. It bolted to the MAF and then I clamped a 3.5" UPR filter to the end.

    Jake
  7. OinkAodeOink

    OinkAodeOink Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Daytona bch, Florida
    Same setup as GTJAKE, with stock mass air..



    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  8. 95snoozer

    95snoozer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RCR
    should I use 3 inch... seems like that would be better for velocity.
  9. HoofnIt

    HoofnIt Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I used the 3" pipe as well. Here's mine.
  10. Rains

    Rains Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chico, CALIFORNIA!!!
    those home made CAI look awesome- i'm going to try and make one today- i already have about 2 ft of 3" PCV and now i need the rubber boots to connect the TB and the MAF


    anyone know what they are called? ... or where to get them?

    i know my local osh doesn't have them....

    BTW OinkAodeOink your engine bay is sweet-looking
  11. mighty_mike

    mighty_mike Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C.
    heres mine...
    [​IMG]
  12. Rel

    Rel Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    christ Oink... I could sleep in your engine bay
  13. GTJake

    GTJake Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I tested both at the track one night and the times were not different enough to cause concern. If it's worth anything I ran my best time in my sig with the 4".

    Jake
  14. GTJake

    GTJake Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Fernco rubber boots. I got mine at Home Depot.

    Jake
  15. Rains

    Rains Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chico, CALIFORNIA!!!
    frenco at home depot- gotcha

    thanks for the help :nice:

    i'll try to get it on tonight and take pics? :shrug:
  16. mighty_mike

    mighty_mike Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver B.C.
    yah , pics are always good :D
  17. 95snoozer

    95snoozer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RCR
    how did yall mount the air intake temperature sensor?

    what size hole what tools? etc etc?
  18. GTJake

    GTJake Founding Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    I drilled it out just enough to screw it in and make my own threads. Coat it lightly in RTV so it seals. I deleted the oil breather line and used a breather filter.

    Jake
  19. 95snoozer

    95snoozer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    RCR
    what size hole? sis you use a certain size bit? or just spin it around to widen the hole?
  20. HoofnIt

    HoofnIt Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I twisted on some rubber hose, maybe 3/4" diameter, over the threads on the sensor. I then drilled a hole 'just' big enough to insert the sensor. Start small so that you can use a round file to open it up to the right size. Ideally, you want the sensor to fit pretty snug. I also used high-temp gasket sealer around the hole.

    Here's a pic.

Share This Page