low 11's does not seem that hard..

admstng

Dec 12, 2003
I'm new to this but it seems that all i need to get into the 11's is a good H/I/C, 373's, street slicks, and a power adder. I'm guessing that this combination will cost littel over 4K.

• Sponsors (?)

Possibly, but it's the little things that go along with your HCI and blower that add up too. 255 lph fuel pump, regulator, FMU, ignition, tach, shocks, uca, lca, clutch, 31 splines, Eaton posi, sub frames, 3 or 4 core radiator, cold air intake, gaskets, exhaust, machine work, mass air meter, power pipe, etc ...

That why you see such long signature lines on the really fast cars.

If it was easy, eveyone would be doing it. Traction/driving play a big role in getting there - there are plenty of 11 sec HP cars running 12s and 13s because they don't have the traction/suspension/driving skill to get there. Lastly, I think your cost estimate is WAY low. A good rule of thumb is to double the price of the big components for all the miscellaneous stuff you'll also require once you get into it.

its very easy for the power adder (except nitrous) to cost that much with just some of the things you need to get it going.

my car is making mid to low 12 second power and its trapping that, but i'm in the mid to high 13's because of traction and gearing.

i never thought it would be as expensive as it is, but i already have more than twice the number you mentioned into my motor alone with all the labor and machine work.

Little over 4k? Lets see...

New S-trim $2300
Heads, including new push rods, studs and roller rockers $1400
Intake $450
Cam $250
Gears with new bearings and install kit $275
Drag radials $325
Injectors $200
MAF meter $175
Throttle Body $250
Fuel pump $125
Axles that wont snap $300
Driveshaft loop because you're running 11's $100
Cage because you're running 11's $275