Mach 1 Springs On A Foxbody?

I have a friend with a complete set of 03' Mach 1 springs that he took off his old car. He says they'll work on my 90 GT and will lower it maybe an inch or so. The spring rate's between foxbody's and Mach 1's are different and I was wondering if this swap would be capable and would indeed work and lower my car? He's want 100 bucks for his set also, worth it? Forgive me, I'm new to the world of coil springs/suspension.

Here's some spring rates at pounds per inch:

5.0 foxbody

front....426
rear.....185

Mach 1

front....600
rear.....250

00 GT

front....450
rear.....210

• Sponsors (?)

i would spend another 100 and get a quality set, or see if he will let you test them out first..if you go through the hassle of installing worse springs then you already have, plus spending 100 bucks on em would be a total loss IMO, but they could work out..

~Mark~

I have Mach 1 springs in my vert. However, you'll note I said vert, so we are not comparing apples to apples.

All in all I'm pretty happy, though the rear is a bit soft (the difference between my old springs and the Mach's is HUGE. The old ones were uber beefy and the Mach's a tiny).

Others have swapped Machs into a fox, so there should be a lot of opinions out there if you give the thread a little time. The one guy I can think of off the top of my head whom has Bullitt's (arguably the same spring as Mach's) is Shakerhood. Maybe he will see this or you can PM him if needed.

And that price is about the going rate on the classifeds, including shipping. If there's no shipping for you, I'd see if the price can be lowered (I think I just saw a set or two going for 75 plus shipping, for example)

Good luck.

Thanks for the replies. Another dumb question......when installing another set of springs, do most guys just change out the fronts or does everyone do all 4? I've seen lots of classifieds just advertising for selling just the fronts.