Max Displacement for an '01 GT

cgph4693

Feb 1, 2001
This thread is also in the Drag Racing forum...

I would like to get into the 12s with my '01 GT and still keep it drivable... And want to do it by adding some C.I. -not by NOS, turbo, supercharger, or by crazy compression ratios. As I'm new to the performance aspect of these cars, what is the best way to do it? Is it advisable to go with a 5.4L block? Coast High Performance has a 5.1L stroker kit, but that to me still seems a tad small. Any advice is appreciated as I am just looking to spank some rice : )

Thanks!

BTW: When I say "these cars", my point is that I am more familliar with the Windsor blocks and performance... I'd like the punch of a 351w stroked to 393/427 out of this car.

• Sponsors (?)

micool said:
You don't need to touch your motor if all you want to do is run 12s. Bolt ons with the right suspension will get you there.

Not that I doubt you, but I know people who have gone fairly crazy and are only in the mid-13s. I am looking for a 12.0 flat minimum. Which bolt-ons will get me there? What suspension changes? Usually, I'd add traction bars, 90/10s, KYBs, etc... but this car seems to transfer weight and hook up suprisingly well (for being stock).
Thanks in advance!

Redfire03GT said:
Take a look at KenB's set up on here and at Modulardepot.com He's running 11.77's N/A.

Cool, thanks for the tip!

Also, it might help to explain why I am looking for more speed now (after owning the car for nearly three years).
1) I only have two payments left : )
2) It will be off warranty soon anyway.