Msd Distributor For 5.0

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by Anaconda, Feb 21, 2014.


  1. Anaconda

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Showcase:
    4
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Memphis, Tn
    What part number for a mad distributor in a 5.0 with msd box.
     
    #1
  2. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,518
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    stick with oem Motorcraft and skip the headaches the May Suddenly Die dizzy will cause you!
     
    #2
  3. Anaconda

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2000
    Messages:
    108
    Showcase:
    4
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Memphis, Tn
    Ok thanks Madspeed.
     
    #3
  4. madspeed

    madspeed Colonel Mustard
    Mod Dude Founding Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1999
    Messages:
    8,518
    Showcase:
    9
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    a van down by the river
    no prob!
     
    #4
  5. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    X a-ca-billion :burnout:
     
    #5
  6. Onefine88

    Onefine88 Previously 89SSC18

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Agree 1000%. I went through 2 before I learned my lesson.
     
    #6
  7. larrym1961

    larrym1961 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    494
    Showcase:
    1
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Location:
    Idaho Falls Id
    The TFI on the Pro Billet did not even last a month on the one I had. May Suddenly Die, very true!
     
    #7
  8. 85SVOGUY

    85SVOGUY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    socal
    Bad luck! I do agree sometimes msd might suck, but I've had an msd streetfire I bought and installed February of last year and I've had no issues. Put about 15-20k on it so far. My last 89 5.0 had an msd pro billet for 3 years with no issues. Both parts bought brand new.
     
    #8
  9. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Do you have a 3g alternator 130amp???
     
    #9
  10. 85SVOGUY

    85SVOGUY Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    socal
    Nope just a stock 65 amp.
     
    #10
  11. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Last year I bought a new msd billet, 6months after I installed it I added a 3g, 130amp, the msd went ape sh!t, we thought it was the alt at first cause it was the so called NEW part but we threw in a stock dizzy, ....ran perfect. Took the msd back to Summit and got a full refund cause I bought it new outta the box. If you ever do a 3g look out for this symptom. It breaks up around 2000rpm and worse with accessories on.
     
    #11
  12. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    ......also if you still insist on keeping that stock alt, you better check that bottom alt plug because its melting from the heat and are known for fire hazards. That was my reason I went to a 3g, plug was melting like a mofo, gotta pic of it on here some where.
     
    #12

Share This Page