My 1970 Mustang project - Frame/Floorpan/Subframes.

BlackGMC

Feb 6, 2007
This is my first time posting on this site, I have a 1970 mustang coupe I am working on. I thought I would post up some pics of my homemade frame/body leveler. I am in the process of making new floor pans/Sub frames/rear crossmember/firewall/roll cage. I am basically trying to beef everything up and tie the two subframes together.

My first step is cutting out the rear torque boxes (I think that is what they are called) and putting a 2X4 cross member w/ intergrated Driveshaft loop where they were located.

Next step I will tie into the rear and front subframe with some box tubing and join them at the new rear crossmember.

There is going to be alot more but I will post up some pics as I progress.

Anyways here are the starting pics. Looks little rough but everyone has got to start somewhere.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Attachments

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 1,643
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 786
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    114 KB · Views: 371
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    78.8 KB · Views: 487
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    94.4 KB · Views: 359
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    80.9 KB · Views: 396
  • Sponsors (?)

I'm not quite in that same boat, but I'm feeling ya on the floors and stuff. As soon as I can sneak the camera link cord from my folks I'll post the most recent pics of my hibernating stang...

Yeah I was going to leave that out over here cause I thought I would get flamed pretty bad.

Well, if you are going to put a Chevy engine into a Ford, at least you're considering one of the newer Chevy engines that has been redesigned to be similar to a Ford. The LS1 is still not as good as a Ford, but better than the Chevy engines of the 70s.

:p :nonono: