My Rant on my driving skills

So today, after my big test I decide to blow off steam and take the stang out since it hasn't moved in over a week. So I cruise out to the coast and decide to try out this new driving road my buddy in the car club told me about. I head out that direction and once I got on the road it was awesome. No one was on the road(leads basically no where since the built the main highway) and it has really nice twistiest.

(rant begins)

So anyway I am driving along this road and come to a long, long straight away and decide to do a 0 to 60(speed limit 55). I launch at 1500rpm, pull through first, grab 2nd with wheel spin and go to grab third when I miss third!! I have never done that before on the MGW shifter ever.:mad:

Pissed off, I stop and decide to do another run, like I said long straight away. I launch at 1500 rpm again, grab 2nd with wheel spin and grab third only to have my foot slip off the clutch and scratch third (ie I was not all the way in gear yet when I slipped off the clutch. I nearly pulled my hair out, too short to grab well though.:fuss:

:censored: I feel like a noob! It just makes me sooo mad. I know I was rushing the shifts and forcing the shifter, not being smooth and precise. I just hate when I do that especially when I scratch the gears(only have done it 5 times on my rebuilt trans, hopefully never again.), it sounds terrible and makes me look terrible.:bang: I don't know why I can shift fine and then get all nervous thinking that shifting .05 sec will really make a difference in my times, when in reality I am slower because i miss a gear or make myself look bad.

(end rant)

• Sponsors (?)

You sure it's you and not the clutch, or quadrant/cable being out of adjustment?

I've had the same thing happen before. Usually my first pass down the track I scratch 2nd and 3rd out of being anxious, then it's fine after that.