Need help with tach wiring

stangkid88

Nov 11, 2005
Seattle area
So I bought this 3 3/4" Autometer Street Tach from Summit Racing:

2894.jpg

I have it mounted on the steering column with a hose clamp but I need some help with the wiring. sorry for the complete newb question but I have never done any kind of electrical work so this is all new to me. I know red goes to ignition, white goes to in-dash lighting, black gets grounded, and green goes to the electronic ignition. How do I splice into the factory wires? Do I just cut them, wrap together, and wrap with electrical tape or should I solder them? Secondly, I have an MSD 6A box which was put in by the PO and the green wire should hook up to the tach terminal. How do I connect the wire to this? I know this should be very easy, so I'd really appreciate it if someone could give me some pointers. Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

I recommend splicing into the wires and soldering and then use shrink tubing over the splice. If there is a location to use a plug type end on the wire, use that for the connections. The connection for the tack on the MSD may have a plug type or a bare wire to splice. For a plug, buy the type connector you need. Do not use electrical tape because some day, at the least likely time, it will come loose and cause a possible short and, POOF, there goes the wiring up in smoke. Do it right the first time so you do not have to wonder when it will go bad.

Instead of splicing you can simply build a "Y" adapter and use bullet connectors

Get your self some large nose bullet connectors. If you can't find any you can open the nose (with an awl stuck in the end) of the standard size to fit the stock Ford harness.
Make a "Y" using one male bullet as the base, two 2" pieces of 14 gauge wire, and two female bullets at the top.
To connect all your wiring: