New to Slicks...

I recently bought a used pair of 16" Welds in M/T ETs 26x8.5-16s. WEIRD size I know, I mostly picked up the pair for the wheels alone. I really want to leave the rear calipers untouched versus going 15" (99 Cobra w/IRS), and dont want to pay big bucks for 17x10.5 wheel/DR package. Long term plan is 255/50/16 DRs but for now id like to run with the slicks a few times for s&g's...

So I am totally new to slicks and have a few questions before running them.

1. How do I tell how much rubber is left (again theyre used)? There are about a dozen 1/8 holes into the rubber, is this some sort of depth measuring, reverse wear-bar set up?

2. I cant see a "Tubeless" on the sidewall, and they dont have tubes installed, BUT M/Ts website says these tires need tubes. Whats the truth in all this?

3. Can anyone talk me out of BFG DRs? They look like my first choice based on price and availability.

Ill take any other advice you have! I prefer doing things right the first time around.

• Sponsors (?)

1: The depth of the hole(s) is used to measure the tread on the tire.

2: Probably don't need tubes. If the tires say tubeless, go with that. There are only a few slicks that need a tube setup.

3: BFG's aren't bad but Mickey's seem to be the preferred tire. I've rolled on a set of BFG drag radials and they were so/so, but by the time I acquired them they were well worn.

Slicks are a very bad choice for a daily driver tire. They were very fast (like... a set per few thousand miles) and if you ever hit wet roads, your chances of meeting a wall, ditch, or another vehicle are increased tenfold. If those are your intentions, about the most daily friendly, grippy tire you'll get is a Nitto 555R. They aren't the best at the track, but they hook hard on the street for some reason, last longer than the other drag radials/slicks, and offer some protection against wet conditions compared to others.