New to the EFI world!

blue66tang

Founding Member
Jan 20, 2001
Medford, OR
Im new to the EFI world and will probobly be asking a ton of questions on here over the next couple of months. I guess the first question is what sensors can i get rid of with out losing performance and throwing codes. I just put a 5.0 in a 84 cj7, so i am trying to get rid of all the unnecesary stuff. So far the only sensors i have are, MAF, O2's, BAP, TPS, ECT, ACT, and the EGR. I dont know if the EGR is working because I don't have a vacume line on it. I got rid of all the vacume lines simply because i didnt need any. I only have one running to the brakes, and one running from the throttle body to the oil filler neck.... i think.
Also how do I know the mas is working properly. The sensor had a crack in the top of it when i got it. So i dont know if is working or not. I unpluged it when it was running and it didnt do anything to the engine. Um... I dont knwo what else to ask just yet. O yeah how can i get rid of the egr and not throw a code. I looked on fordfuelinjection.com but the directions were stinking confusign.
Thanks guys.

• Sponsors (?)

Everything is important in the EFI system for it to work properly.

The EGR really is the only thing that sorta can be eliminates, but to do it properly you need to tune the car to compensate for the lean condition that will result at part throttle settings.

To eliminate it you just block of the EGR ports on the heads to the intake. If you leave the sensor hooked up, it won';t toss a code, however you should tune because the computer will pull fuel at part throttle when it expects the inert gas from the EGR to be present.

So how could I get it hooked back up properly. I dont have very few of the vacume peices. I dont care if it works, it can only help emissions right? Power isnt a huge issue in this thing. I mean it is, but im now out drag racing a cj7 or anything.