No fuel pressure, 2000 3.8

Discussion in 'SN95 V6 Mustang Tech' started by Tricky.1, Dec 7, 2009.

1. Tricky.1

Tricky.1 New Member

Hi all.
    New here & am having a fuel problem with my 2000 3.8 Mustang.
    No fuel pressure.

I checked & there is no pressure at the fuel rail. I have listened at the fuel filler neck wile wify turned the key. Silence.
    I checked the IFS switch in the trunk, and the button was in.
    I checked the fuel pump relay & CCRM fuses & they are both good.
    Also the battery is new & I'm getting fire.

I plan to change the fuel filter & test if there is any voltage to the fuel pump, but I'm not sure of what wires to look for. I guess I'll find out when I get under the gas tank. Anyone know?

I'd rather not assume it's the fuel pump & drop the tank, until I've checked everything else.

Anyone know what would be the next things to check & how?
    CCRM, PCM, CMP ???
    I havent been able to find the CCRM yet.

I used to work as a Ford/Isuzu heavy truck & tractor mechanic but there was very little computer control.

Any info on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
  2. stangfanatic

stangfanatic New Member

Do you have voltage coming out of the inertia switch?
  3. lil'MONSTER

lil'MONSTER New Member

Hi mate, before you go any further check to see if the pump is working.....????? and that you have power at the pump! Good luck!!!! :)
  4. Tricky.1

Tricky.1 New Member

The pump is not working. Will test the IFS, and find out if I'm getting power to the pump next.
    Anybody know which wires go to the pump & which are for the sending unit?

Thanks.
  5. stangfanatic

stangfanatic New Member

It appears as if the wire coming into the inertia switch will be Dark Green/Yellow ( this has two branches and comes from both the CCRM and PCM to the inertia switch) and coming out of the inertia switch to the fuel pump is Brown/Pink.
  6. Tricky.1

Tricky.1 New Member

First off, Thanks so much for all the info!