No power after 5k?

BLACKCOUPEGT

Aug 9, 2009
hey guys, I rarely post on here and I'm new to the mustang world but I've got a question... I've noticed since I've owned my mustang (since this past July) that engine power seems to die off around 5,000rpm. It's never really been noticeable and I figured it was probably due to a/c being on or something like that, but its been kind of bothering me lately and I figured I would be safe and make sure there wasn't actually something wrong. I have an 04 GT couple with the 5spd. it just rolled 30,000 miles and runs great. The car is 100% stock except for short throw shifter (installed after purchase) and what looks like an x pipe (possible leak?) and stock cat back that was on the car when i bought it. Basically what I'm getting to is, is there something wrong, or is this pretty normal for a totally stock gt? there are no error codes and the car runs fine, but it just worries me how much it struggles to rev past 5k. hopefully someone on here that knows more than me can give me some good news!:D

• Sponsors (?)

sounds about right, 4.6 2V cars STOCK. have nothing after 5k
stage 2 heads/cams, gears, intake, long tubes will give you power up to 6000 RPM safe

a cheaper option would be.fixing ur exhaust leek and cams only + good tune
help guys am i forgetting something?

"Struggling" to get past 5000 does not sound normal.

If that aftermarket X-pipe has cats it's possible one (or, less likely, both) cats have failed and are impeding exhaust flow. This can happen if the substrate separates from the housing and the core ends up cockeyed in the housing, partially blocking the exit. Depending on the degree of blockage, that could cause power loss at higher RPM and large throttle angles.

Clean out your TPS, replace the fuel filter and check your plugs. It should pull till 6k.

"Struggling" to get past 5000 does not sound normal.