Non start issues, bad fuel pump?

crzyhrse99

Mar 30, 2005
Kansas
99 GT 165K
Bolt-ons, stock fuel components

Last fall I picked up a beater and parked the stang for the winter. Still started it once a week and let it get to operating temps. Well about a month ago tried to start and it would just turn over. I pressed on the check valve on the fuel rail and had no fuel there, I checked te inertia switch in trunk and no problems there.

It had about an 1/8 tank of fuel in it so I thought I would put a few gallons in it and throw on a new fuel filter (cheap fix if I was lucky). Put on new MC filter and it started right up, running rough for about 2 min. then died. Same deal as before crank but no start.

I rechecked for fuel at the rails and all I got was a hiss of air. Has not thrown any codes, I havent heard the buzz from the fuel pump at all, have banged on the tank and no sound. Could I maybe have airlocked the lines by pressing the check valve?

I am a complete noob when it comes to ignition/fuel components, I basically know how to change the fuel filter and I know the pump is in the fuel cell....and thats about it.

• Sponsors (?)

Can you get your hands on a scan tool or a fuel pressure gauge to monitor the pressure when you cycle the key like burns suggests?

Fuel pressure should be between 30-45 psi while your engine is running.

Well I did the the key cycling and never heard the pump buzz at all.

Can you get your hands on a scan tool or a fuel pressure gauge to monitor the pressure when you cycle the key like burns suggests?

Fuel pressure should be between 30-45 psi while your engine is running.
I have a DSP tuner but thats prob not what youre talking about, but if i'm not getting any fuel at the rails I wouldnt think I'm getting any pressure.

I was just thinking that the pump could be working, but you may not be hearing it. A scan tool or gauge could confirm.