Noobie With Some Questions

mredwards0421

Nov 13, 2014
How's it going guys!?I'd like to start by saying that I have been reading up about the car to ingest as much information as possible since I bought the car. I know that there are many knowledgeable folks when it comes to the Foxbody platform, and I would like to pick your brains if possible. I purchased an 89 5.0 this weekend, it was built about 3,000 miles ago down at Panhandle Performance in Florida. It has a built motor(not sure of the internals), transmission is built as well, 9 inch rear end, trick flow heads and cam, a paxton supercharger, bigger injectors(i'm unsure of size) and it's running methanol (it doesn't have a charge cooler). First, what oil/weight do you recommend for the S/C motor, I have read that some use 10w 30 in summer and 5w 30 in winter. Also, what spark plugs/gap do you recommend? I have some boosted experience having owned two Mitsubishi Evolutions but i can already see the differences in turbo and s/c cars. Next, what size injectors/fuel pump do you recommend for about 600hp on pump gas? Is running E-85 fuel common? Which charge cooler's do you recommend? I'm sure I have more questions but if you could help out with these i'd greatly appreciate it.

• Sponsors (?)

welcome.

I suggest you contact Panhandle for the builsheet and ask them what their recommendations are. For spark plugs, generally you want to start about 2 steps colder in a plug, read the plugs and go from there. For oil, 10w30 is fine year round.

What block are you running that you are talking about 600hp? Dart. R302? Certainly not a stock one. You will need a least 60lb injectors, aftermarket fuel rails, lines, and at least a 34olph in tank pump, I'd feel better with either a Glenn's performance or Aeromotive setup.

you left out some key pieces of information like auto or stick, what rear gears, and of course pictures.

Reactions: 1 user