Oil pressure gauge not working

Discussion in 'SN95 4.6L Mustang Tech' started by MPScott1, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. MPScott1

    MPScott1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL
    I have a 2000 GT, I just got back from being deployed for the past 50 days. I got in my car to drive it and the oil pressure gauge will not move. I checked my oil and it is full. Before i left i had no problems with the car. It seems to drive fine, and no noises or anything. Any ideas of things i could check i would appreciate it.
     
    #1
  2. wmburns

    SN Certified Technician

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,196
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    69
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Start first by checking the wire to the oil pressure sending unit. Is it connected? Is it tight?

    Next remove the connector and short the wire to ground while the motor is running. If the dash gauge works, then the sender is bad.

    If the dash gauge does not work, the problem is in the wiring or the dash itself. More tests will be needed.

    Accessing the cluster diagnostic mode:
    http://Please do not link to external forums/forums/v6-tech/49159-diagnostic-mode.html
     
    #2
  3. MPScott1

    MPScott1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL
    Thanks i will try that. This may be a dumb question, but would it be safe to drive still with this problem?
     
    #3
  4. nyuk98gt

    nyuk98gt Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    MPScott1:

    The pressure switch may just have gunk on it or a rodent may have gnawed through a wire. You can put a pressure gauge on at the switch connection to check that the pump is working but I would check the switch is working first so you don't have to wrench immediately.

    HTH,

    Chris
     
    #4
  5. Hardtop68

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 1999
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Puerto La Cruz - Venezuela
    To discard gauge failure, do a gauge test using the instruments cluster diagnostics: press the TRIP button on the instruments cluster then turn on the ingnition (without cranking it) until "test" reads on the odometer: the gauges will go from min. to max. then min. again then actual readings. This also happens when you reconnect the battery and turn the ignition afterwards.

    Cheers,
     
    #5
  6. Night Shifter

    Night Shifter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,984
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Daytona
    My gauge did the same thing...turned out the plug in to the sensor worked itself loose
     
    #6
  7. MPScott1

    MPScott1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL
    Got it fixed ended up being a bad oil pressure sending unit.
     
    #7

Share This Page