OK, When I fix my current problem, whats next?

cleck673

Feb 6, 2004
Mods, if this is not the right place, please remove or move it... sorry. I run 5 forum sites also and I know the feeling.

This car is nice looking, but not the best.... My plans so far, redo interior, rewire electrical, stereo....These things I think I can handle and know what to do. UNder the hood, no clue. THis is the car : LINK

When it is running, it is sweet as hell sounding and pretty darn fast already. I am told that it has Flowmaster exhuasts. Another thing I have already lined up is converting it back to 5 speed. (Someone made it auto)

Looking for suggested modifications and why? IF you could tell me what I need and provide a little explaination of what the mod will do. I am a total newbie. I bought this car to learn and play. (Kinda like your dads did with the 57 Chevy)

Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

One MAJOR concern with any 86 5.0 is that they came with flat top pistons with NO valve reliefs... You can't put any decent cam in there, or install any good heads without changing the pistons or flycutting them. Also, the black crap coming out the exhaust... Basically it's carbon build up in the exhaust and chances are that there was a little water or condensation in the exhaust and when he/you started it, it just blew the water out along with some carbon.. No biggy.. I bet the car has an off road (read no cats) pipe. The connector there that goes to the A/C should be around there somewhere.. It's the power for the clutch for the compressor. Just look around and see if you can find the wire.. if not, you can get that connector at a local junk yard, and you can probe any loose wires for power with the a/c on full blast, you will have power... and without a/c, no power...