opinions on a new motor

jete

Jul 23, 2006
Lexington Kentucky
I just pulled a 351 from my 83 mustang and I was looking to put a 5.0 with a roller cam back in since my friend at the junkyard gave me a good deal on a set of gt-40 heads from an explorer. I was gonna get me a performer intake for the performer carb I got on it. I was gonna use this car as a daily driver I could abuse. I was wanting to kind of keep it lower torque and lower horsepower but to a point where I can have fun but also not really worry to much about breaking my stuff. The transmission is kind of weak. It was a c4 I was using on the 351 which is about at the end of its life. Was thinking about rebuilding it. The rearend is one of the 7.5's so I was thinking of getting a 8.8 for it with a 4.10 trak lok from a junkyard and getting it rebuilt. The only other performance add on I was kind of looking at was a mild cam and a fresh valvetrain. (Springs, retainers, seals, rods, rockers and valves just to make sure im not loosing anything with the cam. The rest of the motor I was going to keep pretty much stock though, as I heard the stock 302 blocks werent the toughest blocks out there, which is the reason I wanted to keep it kinda low profile on the performance sector. Any suggestions for ignition, fuel delivery (Stock as of now), or suspension? I dont have a radio in my car either... Its my fun car. I want to abuse it... but I want it to take it. Exhaust wise I already have some shorty headers with a h pipe and flowmasters out the back. Any input would be welcome and appriciated. Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)