P0401 code - Told to replace PCM

Hefy302

Sep 28, 2010
Hello,

After replacing a failed (plugged) catalytic converter, cleaning plugged egr ports and replacing a egr vacuum solenoid I am being told PCM has to be replaced for it is "not completly grounding the erg soleniod" and thus egr code still present during self test.

So can someone replace the PCM soleniod easily enough without paying a shop $876 to do so?

If so what part should I get and where?

My stang is 2000 Convertable, v6 3.8l automatic transmission. I am a Washington state resident.

Kind regards,
Hefy302

• Sponsors (?)

Trouble shooting P0401 EGR

Working on the EGR system can be difficult. The tests are somewhat involved and may be lengthly. Do you have a Volt-Ohm meter and are you willing to use it? All of the tests will need to be done and the results posted.

I am assuming that you want to replace only the parts that are bad. Therefore, the tests will help rule out or confirm that the PCM is indeed bad.

We are going to assume that all EGR passage ways are clear. Remember, if there aren't, this could cause the problem.

Start first by cleaning the electrical connectors to the EGR vacuum regulator and the DPFE sensor. Use electrical contact cleaner. Regrease with a small amount of silcone di-electric grease (the same kind used on spark plugs). Do not cut corners on this step. The odds favor this as the root of the problem.

Next, it is vital that all vacuum hoses be in good condition. The exhaust gas is hard on rubber/metal parts. Ensure there are no leaks in the hoses to/from the DPFE sensor. Check all other vacuum lines and ensure they are leak free.

Reset the codes. Drive. Pull the next DTC to come up. If it is still P0401, go onto the next steps.

Rent a hand operated vaccum pump. Pull the vacuum line to the EGR valve. Apply a vacuum to the EGR valve. A change in engine running should immediatly be apparent. This is to confirm the EGR value is responding to vacuum.