Painting A Gt Bodykit

Vaz88GT

Apr 8, 2012
Alright so I have some money and i'm ready to start painting all the gray on my 88 mustang to the medium scarlet on my body.

Yes its going to be rattle :( but honestly it cant look worse than it is. Anyhow..

What kind of paint do I need? Again this is just the plastic bodykit from a gt. And can I get it at auto zone or ..?

Does it need primered?

And what kind of sandpaper?

This is my first time painting a car, my father is going to help but i'm trying to be as independent on it as possible, thanks for the help guys!

• Sponsors (?)

First things first...

Is the current paint chipping or flaking off? If so, it needs to be at least feathered back to where it isn't peeling anymore, then reprimed in those areas.

Sandpaper depends on what you have to do. If it is peeling, then you should have a dual action sander with 80-100 grit paper to remove the old paint. If the paint is just old looking, then a simple scuff with 400 grit should be fine.

As far as the paint goes... are you sure you really want to rattle can it? It maybe can't look worse than it is, but a rattle can isn't going to look much better. Depending on what tools you have available, you could potentially repaint this the proper way for a few hundred dollars. For that matter, I bet if you prepped everything, you could run it to Maaco and get them to do it for pretty cheap. If you haven't done it, I really recommend you do some research to see what it is going to cost to have it resprayed professionally. Rattle canning it will still cost you something, and the labor to do even that will be enough to make a couple hundred dollars difference worth it in the end.

Well the paint isnt flacking, its fadded through, around the edges of the bumpers the yellow foaming ( or whatever ) is showing. Here is a picture..

PICT0040.jpg

Image05022012175402.jpg

View attachment 147852