"Phone" Problem

Discussion in '2005 - 2009 Specific Tech' started by jwoods3, Sep 12, 2009.


  1. jwoods3

    jwoods3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As of a couple days ago, my audio receiver says "Phone" and will not play audio. I cannot switch it from this. I tried pulling the battery but when I plug it back in, the same message appears. Any advice?

    Thanks,
    Jayson
    #1
  2. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    There may be a reset on the back of the HU. Try actually disconnecting your battery. Pulling a fuse may still leave some power going to it. Otherwise, sounds like time for a new HU.
    #2
  3. jwoods3

    jwoods3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am assuming by "HU" you mean the receiver? I did pull the battery, it reset the clock but made no difference to the phone display. It is an 06, with 20,000 miles on it, I can't see anything needing replacement.

    Any other ideas?
    #3
  4. DarkFireGT

    DarkFireGT Playing with my wife's really makes me want one. Mod Dude

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Yeah, HU = head unit.

    Unless there's some type of reset on the back, it seems like the receiver has gone bad. It's uncommon, but it happens. The receiver in my '05 went out within 6 months.

    This is the one I'm running. A great upgrade for $250. Much better sound, but looks factory (deters theft), and iPod controls/display. If you have MyColor, the blue matches perfectly.
    Pioneer FH-P8000B AM/FM CD Car Stereo Receiver with Bluetooth in Car Stereo Receivers at JR.com

    Of course, there's plenty of aftermarket options.

    Otherwise, if you have any warranty left, the dealer will replace it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #4
  5. imfamousjim

    imfamousjim Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    yeah, if hitting the phone button on the headunit and having the battery off for an extended period of time both don't work i'd go for a new headunit. If you buy an aftermarket, every one is so much better than the stock headunit. prices for doubledin units are also getting very low.


    those are some beautiful interior pics darkfire!
    #5

Share This Page