Powerdyne Supercharger

Discussion in '1979 - 1995 (Fox, SN95.0, & 2.3L) -General/Talk-' started by scott 94 gt, Oct 26, 2013.


  1. scott 94 gt

    scott 94 gt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    i just bought a 94 gt with a powerdyne supercharger on it im new to the supercharger deal i usually run turbos but just wondering if any one knows if the oil needs to be changed in it any help would be greatly appreciated thanks
     
    #1
  2. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,450
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,623
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    I usually change SC oil ever other engine oil change. You need to find out specifically, what oil is recommended. Mine take a straight, synthetic, 50 weight oil. I've no idea what Powerdyne recommends for theirs.
     
    #2
  3. scott 94 gt

    scott 94 gt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    ok thank you
     
    #3
  4. 88LX5.Oh

    88LX5.Oh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    74
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I have a powerdyne laying around. It's belt driven inside, not gear driven. It has sealed bearings and there is no oil. I would figure yours is just like mine
     
    #4
  5. scott 94 gt

    scott 94 gt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    2
    mine is a bd-10
     
    #5
  6. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I know that the Powerdyne units aren't universally loved, but that's the one I have. Unfortunately, it munched the belt yesterday. Any input on belt selections? For what it's worth, mine is a BD-11.
     
    #6
  7. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,450
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,623
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    If you know what length it is that you need, I'm a huge fan of Gator-Back belts. It drives my twin screw.

    You should be able to order one up from your favorite parts store.
     
    #7
  8. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, I should have been more specific. The Powerdyne has an internal drive belt. That belt ate itself yesterday.
     
    #8
  9. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,450
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,623
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    I'm not sure that, that is a job someone can do on a simple work-bench.

    Waaaaaaaaaay back when, I remember that people sent them in for rebuilds to get belts replaced.

    Hopefully someone who had one of these will know and come by shortly.

    Edit:

    Found this though. Might be some help:
    http://www.928motorsports.com/parts/competition_ultra_belt.php

    Says BD-10.
     
    #9
  10. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Guys say that it can easily be done at home, but I haven't actually done it yet, so I cannot confirm it yet. It certainly seems doable from the pics and info I've found.
     
    #10
  11. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the link. That's one of the belts I am considering. I'm just hoping someone has input to share that could save me a little trial and error.
     
    #11
  12. Gearbanger 101

    Gearbanger 101 Straight Outta Locash
    Super Mod

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,501
    Likes Received:
    958
    Trophy Points:
    164
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #12
  13. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can find several belt options, I'm just hoping to get something more durable so that I can keep living it up on the good times that boost makes possible!
     
    #13
  14. Gearbanger 101

    Gearbanger 101 Straight Outta Locash
    Super Mod

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,501
    Likes Received:
    958
    Trophy Points:
    164
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I think durability is limited no matter what belt you're running....hence the reason these kits went bye-bye.

    Truth be told, they were never really meant to run beyond 5-6psi.
     
    #14
  15. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As I said earlier, i know its not the ideal setup, but its the one that I own. I have to make the best of it by sourcing the strongest version of the weak link or toss it and frankly, I dig that boost!
     
    #15
  16. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,450
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,623
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    Scroll down to where it says Powerdyne Rebuilds. http://www.superchargerupgrades.com/

    Look at each of their rebuilds to see what they do.

    It does appear that SOMEONE knows how to improve these things and make them pretty damned good.
     
    #16
  17. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have discovered that you can do quite a lot with them. If I can find a good belt, I would probably spend a little more to upgrade it. First, it needs to keep making boost, then I wouldn't mind sending it out for a little more love. I bought the unit used about 7 years ago. I finally got back around to working on the car and finishing up the install a couple days ago. It worked great and the car ran really well, then the belt broke. The car still runs well, but I sure miss that extra atmosphere! Hopefully with a fresh upgrade belt, it will live a little longer...
     
    #17
  18. Noobz347

    Noobz347 Stangnet Facilities Maint Tech... Er... Janitor
    Admin Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 1985
    Messages:
    20,450
    Showcase:
    59
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,623
    Trophy Points:
    174
    Location:
    Box behind Walmart
    Try that belt in the first link. You can always worry about upgrading the blower later on.
     
    #18
  19. Slim Tim

    Slim Tim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That's kinda what I'm thinking.
     
    #19
  20. bentley429isBAC

    bentley429isBAC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Location:
    CT
    Mine was well used when I got it. Ran 6 psi for a while, upped to 8 or 9 about 6 months later. Ran pretty well. Put a crank pulley on it shot up to 12 psi and it started sounding like a s trim but the belt never broke.
     
    #20

Share This Page