Procharger

wwalker777

Apr 13, 2005
I'm new to superchargers and need some info. I've read all I can find about the Procharger but I'm still confused.

1. Does it really not kick in until you hit 4500 rpm.
2. How hard are they to install? Do I need to take it to a tune shop, because I live in the middle of no where. Keep in mind I have very limited mechanical abilities.
3. Do you need to replace any other engine parts for it to perform properly?
4. Do you need to re-tune the computer.

Sorry if I sound like an idiot, like I said I'm new to this, but I'm very interested. I would love the extra H.P.

Thanks

• Sponsors (?)

wwalker777 said:
I'm new to superchargers and need some info. I've read all I can find about the Procharger but I'm still confused.

2. How hard are they to install? Do I need to take it to a tune shop, because I live in the middle of no where. Keep in mind I have very limited mechanical abilities.

Sorry if I sound like an idiot, like I said I'm new to this, but I'm very interested. I would love the extra H.P.

Thanks

Centrifugal based chargers develop a majority of there boost at 3k+

6-10 hours depending on the installers experience and tools

No the prochargers come with everything they need for install.

Prochargers have a custom ECU flash designed for the kit.

wwalker777 said:

Thanks
I'd say avout 3K with max boost around 4500

I have had two cars with a procharger and both blew the motor with there preprogrammed tune. It should be fine BUT definitely take it and have it dyno's to measure the air/fuel ratio to make sure it is safe.

Aside from what comes with the Kit I would get a Kenne-bell boost a pump. Also, for 8lbs or more boost....forge the internals (at least pistons and add ARP rod and head bolts)

The re-tune comes with the Chip provided by ATI...have it double checked though.

Vandil said:
Centrifugal based chargers develop a majority of there boost at 3k+

6-10 hours depending on the installers experience and tools