Pump gas in a 399 stroker?????

wantamach

Dec 27, 2009
I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on how to lower the compression CHEAPLY on a 351c/399 stroker engine (built for the strip) that is supposed to be making 600hp thats in a 70 mach 1 that I'm planning to buy. It's got a 12.1 compression ratio and I'd like to be able to run pump gas due to 100plus octane fuel not being available in my area. The price of the car is quite good for the condition of the car itself but I'm worried I might be biting off more than I can chew with the motor if I'm going to have to stick a crapload of $ at it to make it more streetable. I'm not a seasoned mechanic so I don't have much experiance with the "black art" of engine configuration. Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated!!!!

• Sponsors (?)

I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on how to lower the compression CHEAPLY on a 351c/399 stroker engine (built for the strip) that is supposed to be making 600hp thats in a 70 mach 1 that I'm planning to buy. It's got a 12.1 compression ratio and I'd like to be able to run pump gas due to 100plus octane fuel not being available in my area. The price of the car is quite good for the condition of the car itself but I'm worried I might be biting off more than I can chew with the motor if I'm going to have to stick a crapload of $ at it to make it more streetable. I'm not a seasoned mechanic so I don't have much experiance with the "black art" of engine configuration. Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated!!!!