Q's about Zex Kits, Please inform!

OrangeMustangGt

Founding Member
Mar 7, 2002
Cape Cod, MA
I was wondering what i could get by with a stock motor, hp wise, say 100, 75,shot etc. Also, what do you recccomend, a dry kit or a wet, and does zex come in both? Im new to this, and was wondering how far to "push the limits" on my car. Thanks!....I figure a zex kit should allow me to own a Lt1, plus some! thanks :D

• Sponsors (?)

Nitroua on a stock engine is fine. As long as you get a well made kit and inatall it propperly with all the safety stuff you should have no problem. Most things i have read say not to go over a 125hp shot on the stock bottom end, but if it was my car I would keep it to a 75-100hp shot just to be safe.

I still have my Zex on. Yeah I thought about a used supercharger but unless you are willing to pretty much double the investment on the supporting equipment a blower needs, the Nitrous starts to look really good. Oh yeah, It's like 45 bucks for a 10lb bottle now.

100 shot is plenty. You will go through a lot of tires with those 3.73's.

No wet shot, get the dry. Wet shot you have the chance of backfiring and blowing off your intake. As long as you get a larger fuel pump (190 or 255lph @ ~$100), the dry kit is plenty safe on the 5.0.

GreenMustangGt said:
cool, thanks....Damn!!! its 45 dollars to fill a tank? how long do they last? also, so i NEED a fuel pump, and how about a regulator? thanks all!

Im pretty sure a 75 shot will go about 2 minutes straight. So figure one race is less then 14 seconds. But the power production suffers when the bottle gets low. Get a bottle warmer as well since we get alot of coldddd weather.

Yeah, I use mine sparingly (haven't been to the drags yet) and I only go through a bottle in a summer.