Question about 95 Cobra Trans

slaved

Jan 21, 2004
I am looking at a 95 Cobra and have a question about the transmission.The one I am looking at has an automatic trans and I wanted to know if the 95's were ever produced factory with it or if it would be an aftermarket thing.
I haven't been able to hear the car run or even look at the engine due to owner has it sitting somewhere other then his lot for security reasons.So i am waiting for him to meet me over to look at the engine and check to see if this is a true Cobra.

ALSO might as well ask while I have your attention.What would be a good price for this car.
Has a rebuild title due to collsion in the rear
58,000 miles some minor stuff needs done...mirror on passanger side replaced back seat put back into place hood needs adjusted and emblam by the hood release needs to be replaced.
Any help would be very appreciated.
Shawn

• Sponsors (?)

I'm no cobra expert, but I'm 99.9% positive that the option for an automatic was never there for a Cobra. If it's a true Cobra, it's got to be after market. I'd do a Lemon check on the VIN, it'll tell you what model the car is. Sounds like he's stiffin' ya to me, but who knows, someone might of actually wanted an automatic Cobra.... I don't know why... but someone might...

-Shaun

Yeah thats my problem...I do know what to look for under the hood.But as far as just looking at it and seeing it has the cobra ground effects sproiler and all that.Its a nice lookin car and if its a "true" Cobra the price doesn;t seem to be to bad for it.but if it is a 95 GT dressed as a Cobra with a rebuild title I'd be lucky to force my self into giving him 2500$ for the car.

Shawn

I went this morning and seen the car again,this time checking the vin number.The 8th letter was a D so I guess it is a true Cobra with an automatic transmission.
I also talked to the guy and he said it was factory and that the numbers all matched.I dunno if this could still be a fraud or what.Any ideas now?

Shawn