Question from the new gal

itsgreat2bme

Sep 12, 2003
Regina
Hi everybody, I'm new to the 2.3L board but since I have a 2.3L I figured I'd better see if I can get help from the experts over here.

Anyways, my question/problem is like this: I was raised in a completely car-iliterate family, but I want to learn about cars now :( I know it might be late to be come an expert like some people who grew up around cars, but hey I'm tryin my best! My mechanic friend has been bugging me to do up my car for the last year I've known him, problem is I have no clue where to start :shrug:
I come to this board and try my best to read and follow along with all the car jargon, but I'd like to know the basics (in layman's terms) of what options I should consider as a start for my project. So any help would be greatly appreciated, like any links to basic info, or even just sharing your own knowledge and opinions of where to start with fixing up a gutless stang such as mine :p
Thanks in advance
-Sarah

• Sponsors (?)

Hey Sarah, your no stranger to me, I'm here most of the time. First off you should let us know what year your stang is and if its auto or manual transmission, then we can go from there and is it just a 2.3 or a 2.3 Turbo? Answer those questions and theres tons of experts that helped me out that would be more then happy to give you advice, and me too. :D

2.3 Turbo? :rlaugh: no dice!
Ok well I drive a 1989 2.3L mustang lx, auto-magic transmission with stock everything! . . except for the posi I helped put in, that's from an aerostar van and I love it :hail2:
And well basically if it helps I'll tell you what I'm looking for: I'm in University right now, so something that is a cheap but worthwhile, and since gas prices are retarded, if possible something that won't cause my gas mileage to go down the crapper.