Engine Question On Heads - Ford Motorsport

65-Fstbk

15 Year Member
May 20, 2007
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
The heads I have are older aluminum type but were apparently good in their day. Better than stock anyway. They are Ford Motorsports M-6049-J302.

I am new to the engine build thing and have a couple of basic questions.

Q1 - These heads have been decked pretty much to their limit I think. If you were to put a ruler on the deck surface and slide it across it would contact the large valve ring which is sticking up past deck surface just a little. The cam I am thinking of using is a Comp 35-440-8 (Magnum 281HR) with lift @ .512. Do you think there will be piston to valve clearance issues???

Q2 - the heads have valve guide plates but I don't see any seals in their. Do all heads need valve guide seals when guide plates are used?

Thanks for your help.

• Sponsors (?)

You will have to measure, regardless of what heads you use. Are you looking at only a flat top piston? Most come with a cut out, for intake and exhaust valves..Depending on how far the heads have been milled, you MAY need to mill your intake to fit..
Best bet will be to mock them up, and measure everything out..

Thanks guys. I am re-using the stock 5.0 forged pistons b/c the block is really in good shape. Not even a ridge at the top of the cylinder sleeve and the cross hatching is still easily visible. The stock pistons have the valve reliefs in them which I'm hoping will be just enough to make it work. I s'pose I'll get the play-dough out, mount the head and hand crank it to see. I'm kind of worried that the hydraulic lifter may give if things get close in the cylinder which will not give me an accurate reading.

horsesense - thanks for the info on the seals
woodsnake - Thanks for the info on the intake. I will be checking that for sure.