Quick question with supercharger Tune

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by rdksek844, Feb 6, 2008.


  1. rdksek844

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    I am thinking about buying a mustang that had an ati procharger on it. The guy who has the car sold the supercharger and FMU that was with it. I want to run without the charger and I know I will need to change the injectors to 24#'s to accomidate the 331 I will be putting in it. The question is, how can I tell if the car has a tune or if the FMU was all that was added to accomidate the blower? I am concerned as if I put the motor/24# injectors/ and matching maf in without the blower that the computer will still think the blower is on. Is there a way to tell? Thanks.
     
    #1
  2. forcefed92

    forcefed92 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    49242
    if u dont theres no fmu look at the computer for a chip to see if it has been tuned and look at the fuel line to see if the was a in line pump to the fmu and the fmu lines r deleted.
     
    #2
  3. mustangfan1990

    mustangfan1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    well if he had a tune chances are he didnt need a FMU. Most tuners dont like FMUs. Mine told me they spike to much and are herd to tune. What size injectors are in it now?
     
    #3
  4. rdksek844

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    It has 30 # injectors now.
     
    #4
  5. mustangfan1990

    mustangfan1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    chances are it doesnt have a tune. If there was an FMU there is a good chance no tune, BUT that isnt a guarantee. Just replace the EEC if your arent sure
     
    #5
  6. rdksek844

    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    I will be pulling the computer tomorrow, so I will know for sure hopefully then.
     
    #6

Share This Page