Quick question with supercharger Tune

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by rdksek844, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. rdksek844

    rdksek844
    Expand Collapse
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    I am thinking about buying a mustang that had an ati procharger on it. The guy who has the car sold the supercharger and FMU that was with it. I want to run without the charger and I know I will need to change the injectors to 24#'s to accomidate the 331 I will be putting in it. The question is, how can I tell if the car has a tune or if the FMU was all that was added to accomidate the blower? I am concerned as if I put the motor/24# injectors/ and matching maf in without the blower that the computer will still think the blower is on. Is there a way to tell? Thanks.
     
  2. forcefed92

    forcefed92
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    49242
    if u dont theres no fmu look at the computer for a chip to see if it has been tuned and look at the fuel line to see if the was a in line pump to the fmu and the fmu lines r deleted.
     
  3. mustangfan1990

    mustangfan1990
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    well if he had a tune chances are he didnt need a FMU. Most tuners dont like FMUs. Mine told me they spike to much and are herd to tune. What size injectors are in it now?
     
  4. rdksek844

    rdksek844
    Expand Collapse
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    It has 30 # injectors now.
     
  5. mustangfan1990

    mustangfan1990
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lenoir, North Carolina
    chances are it doesnt have a tune. If there was an FMU there is a good chance no tune, BUT that isnt a guarantee. Just replace the EEC if your arent sure
     
  6. rdksek844

    rdksek844
    Expand Collapse
    Founding Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    I will be pulling the computer tomorrow, so I will know for sure hopefully then.