Racing And Reckless Endangerment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Titlow

Oct 4, 2013
Oklahoma City
So I got a ticket last week for reckless endangerment and willful racing. I have a court date for December 13. I'm currently in the middle of closing on a new home and I'm switching my auto insurance to combine it with my home insurance. After I got the ticket, I emailed my insurance guy and told him what happened and asked what to expect and he said it won't affect me at all. He said he has already pulled my driving record for the initial quote he gave me, and that he won't need to pull it in the future unless I get into a wreck. Does this sound a little too good to be true? I can't imagine having a Class II misdemeanor and not having it affect my auto insurance.

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Sponsors (?)

I've had some experience ..... in the writing end, here in Va., over the years in my prior career ..... and it was not at all uncommon for people to get a ticket or more and not see insurance go up because there was no lapse in coverage or no wrecks ..... but I also know that often whet happened was .... say a year or three down the road, client has minor wreck, insurance co pulls record, then driver cancelled because of other tickets ins co didn't know about until pulling it.

The courts do not make it their business to notify your insurance co, the ins. co. is a private entity which you, the driver has a contract with. The court and then the DMV simply maintain a record of any convictions, .... but only way your ins co gets it is if they ask for it.

:)

Insurance companies do periodic reviews of your insurability. It is in their best interest to not insure bad risks or to charge them higher premiums and they ALL do reviews.
Let's face it, you have already identified yourself as a bad risk. However, unless you file a claim or have one filed against you, it is unlikely you will pop.