Engine Really Quick Question, Lower Intake Bolts

Discussion in 'Fox 5.0 Mustang Tech' started by 5point0stang88, Sep 21, 2013.


  1. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    I looked and can not confirm
    Can I use my stock HO bolts for use with the explorers intake lower?
    I apparently didn't have enough explorer bolts when I went to install it.
    And the studs go into the throttle body right
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #1
  2. mikestang63

    mikestang63 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,152
    Showcase:
    20
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    In the garage
    You'll be fine. We are talking 18-22 ft lbs not head bolts.
     
    #2
    5point0stang88 likes this.
  3. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Ok thank you, I didn't know if they were different size

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #3
  4. Grabbin' Asphalt

    Grabbin' Asphalt Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    1,940
    Showcase:
    25
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Do not go over the ft lbs you can crack the intake!!!
     
    #4
    5point0stang88 likes this.
  5. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Thanks I'll do 17 lol, didn't know that

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #5
  6. Mustang5L5

    Mustang5L5 Car used in adult film "Highway Gangbang-InDaButt"
    SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    21,779
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    The upper to lower bolts won't work. You'll need explorer specific bolts for that.

    But you can use your stock lower to block bolts.
     
    #6
  7. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Thank you I was thinking that too. I have the 6 long ones for that

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #7
  8. mikestang63

    mikestang63 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,152
    Showcase:
    20
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    In the garage
    The OP's question was about the lower bolts, not the upper. Which is what I responded to.

     
    #8
  9. Mustang5L5

    Mustang5L5 Car used in adult film "Highway Gangbang-InDaButt"
    SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    21,779
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Correct. but he showed pics of the upper bolts as well, so wasn't sure if he was including those in his question as well
     
    #9
  10. mikestang63

    mikestang63 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,152
    Showcase:
    20
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    In the garage
    All good my friend. Good advice all around. I would add he might consider a small spacer , as it will aid in both HP and VC clearance. A 1/2 inch spacer should clear a stock hood. Obviously it will require longer upper bolts.
     
    #10
  11. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    I'm picking up these. So a spacer will add hp too?
    I doubt these the bolts with that kit will work but I'm guessing it does
    These valve covers look like for efi right? And how would I install a filler neck to it? Thanks guys

    Also I haven't put a bolt in it. But without. The intake barely clears the hood it seems. So now I need a cowl hood
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #11
  12. mikestang63

    mikestang63 Mustang Master

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4,152
    Showcase:
    20
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    In the garage

    LOL,, looks like you already have a 1" spacer... hence the hood clearance issue. Those VC look like carb ones. No Baffle plate and no provision for the tube to the throtthle body.
     
    #12
  13. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    Lol right it's ridiculous the clearance and that's with no gasket . I was thinking those are carb thank you

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #13
  14. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    I got the stock ones to clear. Just beat down the baffle
    Gonna crank tomorrow
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #14
  15. Mustang5L5

    Mustang5L5 Car used in adult film "Highway Gangbang-InDaButt"
    SN Certified Technician Founding Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    21,779
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    124
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Thee are gaskets for the EGR...you don't need to run rtv there if you want
     
    #15
  16. 5point0stang88

    5point0stang88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    29
    I had a gasket for it I thought but it was way small. Didn't even fit the bolt pattern for the studs on either intake. It previously had rtv

    Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4
     
    #16

Share This Page